• Home
  • /
  • Town
  • /
  • 5 Fun And Awesome Facts About Three Rivers, Prince Edward Island, Canada

5 Fun And Awesome Facts About Three Rivers, Prince Edward Island, Canada

Three Rivers is a town within Kings County in Prince Edward Island that was incorporated on September 28, 2018 through an amalgamation of seven municipalities and adjacent unincorporated areas. Take a look below for 5 fun and awesome facts bout Three Rivers, Prince Edward Island, Canada.

1. The municipalities that were amalgamated included two towns – Georgetown and Montague – and five rural municipalities – Brudenell, Cardigan, Lorne Valley, Lower Montague, and Valleyfield.

2. The sum of the population of the portion of the Town of Three Rivers within the seven former municipalities was 4,519 in Canada’s 2016 census, which is down from 4,707 in the 2011 census.

3. The Town of Three Rivers was governed by an interim council comprising an interim mayor (Merrill Scott) and ten interim councillors.

4. Seven of these interim councillors were the former mayors of the two towns and the five rural municipalities, while the three others were provincially-appointed representatives of the previously unincorporated areas.

5. The first election for a mayor and twelve councillors was held on November 5, 2018, resulting in Edward MacAulay being selected as mayor and Jane King, Alan Munro, Gerard Holland, Ronald Nicholson, Cameron MacLean, David McGrath, Cindy MacLean, Cody Jenkins, Isaac MacIntyre, Debra Johnston, John MacFarlane, Wayne Spin as council members.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply