• Home
  • /
  • City
  • /
  • 10 Obscure And Interesting Facts About La Palma, California, United States

10 Obscure And Interesting Facts About La Palma, California, United States

La Palma (Spanish for “The Palm”) is a city in Orange County, California, United States. Take a look below for 10 obscure and interesting facts about La Palma, California, United States.

1. The population was 15,568 at the 2010 Census, up from 15,408 at the 2000 census.

2. In 2013, La Palma was ranked 31st in the “Best places to live” among small cities (50,000 or less) in the United States by CNN’s Money magazine.

3. In 2007, it was ranked 16th best place to live in the US.

4. The rankings are based on the small-and-friendly neighborhood vibe, high-ranking schools, low crime-rate and the lowest police response time in Orange County.

5. La Palma was incorporated on October 26, 1955. It was originally incorporated as Dairyland, and was one of three dairy cities in the region (the other two being Dairy Valley, now Cerritos, and Dairy City, now Cypress) but when the dairies moved east in 1965, the name of the community was changed to La Palma, after the region’s Spanish heritage and its main thoroughfare, La Palma Avenue.

6. According to the California Secretary of State, as of February 10, 2019, La Palma has 8,358 registered voters. Of those, 2,998 (35.87%) are registered Democrats, 2,637 (31.55%) are registered Republicans, and 2,446 (29.27%) have declined to state a political party/are independents.

7. In the California State Legislature, La Palma is in the 29th Senate District, represented by Democrat Josh Newman, and in the 65th Assembly District, represented by Democrat Sharon Quirk-Silva.

8. In the United States House of Representatives, La Palma is in California’s 38th congressional district, represented by Democrat Linda Sánchez.

9. Fire protection in La Palma is provided by the Orange County Fire Authority with ambulance transport by Care Ambulance Service. The La Palma Police Department provides law enforcement services under the command of Police Chief Terry Kim.

10. According to the United States Census Bureau, the city has a total area of 1.83 square miles (4.7 km2). 1.8 square miles (4.7 km2) of it is land and 0.02 square miles (0.052 km2) of it (1.32%) is water. This makes it the smallest city in Orange County in terms of area.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply